Alpha Gam: Helping Find Our People Since 1904

by Sydney Finchum

Joining a sorority was never at the top of my list when choosing a college. In fact, I had no idea Greek Life even existed at Belmont until my freshman year roommate gave me the inside scoop from her upper-class friends.  I signed up, intrigued, but I chickened out at the last minute and went to the One Direction movie with my suitemates instead (judge me???).

By the time sophomore year came around, going through recruitment was still in the back of my mind, but serious consideration had never taken place until one night in a friend’s apartment. We were sitting around talking about recruitment because one girl was on Panhellenic that year and was telling us we should all go through. My friend, Elise, and I were open to the idea and knew there was no commitment if we went through. On a whim, we both decided to sign up right then and there. Of course, Elise and I were in different recruitment groups; her last name an ‘N’ and mine an ‘F’ and managed to keep conversations about recruitment brief between us the whole weekend so that we wouldn’t influence the other. When bid day came, however, mine and Elise’s names were next to each other’s in blue and green envelopes. We opened up our bids, and sure enough, both of us had received a bid from AGD.

Since then, Elise and I have never been more than two feet apart in Alpha Gam or life. We sit next to each other in initiation order (as do our first littles, shout out, Sofi and Annette, ily), live together, and “Where’s Elise?” is a question I often hear if she’s not with me at Alpha Gam events. These moments wouldn’t have been possible without that moment in Dickens when two friends who had bonded over a breakup and Chago’s queso decided to give Greek Life a try and found their forever home in Alpha Gamma Delta.

Elise has become not just a sister but one of my biggest supporters. She, along with my Big, Shelby, and my other Alpha Gam Fam, have shown me what lifting up other women looks like. These women encourage me in the tough times and stand up for who I am, and without them, I would not be the woman I am today. Because of this, in my heart, I will forever hold Alpha Gamma Delta for bringing such amazing women role models and advocates into my life.

“The best kinds of friendships are fierce lady friendships where you aggressively believe in each other, defend each other, and think the other deserves the world.” – Unknown

Leave a Reply

